As of October 1, 2016, the SWUTC concluded its 28 years of operation and is no longer an active center of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The archived SWUTC website remains available here.

SWUTC’s Lisa Larsen Receives ARTBA Award

Lisa Larsen

Lisa Larsen

SWUTC Graduate Assistant Researcher Lisa Larsen received the Future Industry Spotlight Award during the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) National Convention held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Sept. 8-10. Larsen works in TTI’s Transportation Planning group.

The Future Industry Spotlight Award recognizes a student who achieved “an outstanding academic record and demonstrated extraordinary leadership skills within and outside of the academic environment.” The award was part of ARTBA’s Women Leaders in Transportation Design and Construction Awards.

Larsen, who is pursuing her doctorate in transportation engineering, is no stranger to accolades. Among her honors, Larsen has received the 2012 Eisenhower Fellowship, the 2012 Houston Chapter Women’s Transportation Seminar Overly Graduate Scholarship, and the 2011 University Transportation Center for Mobility Student of the Year Award. She was also a recipient of the Keese-Wootan Fellowship Award and served as the president of the Texas A&M University Institute of Transportation Engineers Student Chapter in 2012.

“It was my first time at an ARTBA convention, so I really enjoyed the opportunity to interact with other transportation professionals,” Larsen says of her trip to Milwaukee. “I was honored to receive the Future Industry Spotlight Award.”

Larsen’s career goal is to become a university professor.