As of October 1, 2016, the SWUTC concluded its 28 years of operation and is no longer an active center of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The archived SWUTC website remains available here.

2013 SWUTC Robert Herman Award for Most Outstanding Student

Kai Yin Selected to Receive 2013 Robert Herman Award –

Kai Yin

Kai Yin

Kai Yin is a recent Ph.D. graduate from the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University – College Station. Coming from a background in information and computation sciences, he joined the transportation engineering program in fall 2008, and first obtained his MS degree in 2010. His MS thesis was on modeling information propagation through inter-vehicle communication, and won him the 2010 CUTC Pikarsky Memorial Award for an Outstanding MS Thesis. Kai conducted his Ph.D. thesis on modeling intersection signal control. Kai has also won a number of other competitive awards both at national and regional levels. For example, Kai was one of ten recipients of the TRB ACRP award sponsored by FAA given annually to graduate studies that address significant aviation issues. Kai is highly motivated for transportation research. He published eight journal papers including three in Transportation Research Part C plus a few under review or revision while being a student at Texas A&M University. His research was partially sponsored by Southwest Region University Transportation Center (SWUTC) through several projects, notably a special fund from SWUTC that allowed him to carry his TRB ACRP award project to its completion.

Kai Yin was advised by Dr. Bruce Wang.

This award, presented yearly by the SWUTC, comes with a $1,000 cash award.