As of October 1, 2016, the SWUTC concluded its 28 years of operation and is no longer an active center of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The archived SWUTC website remains available here.

John Renne to Chair Transportation Committee of National Board


Dr. John Renne

University of New Orleans faculty member and SWUTC Executive Committee member and key researcher, John Renne has been named a committee chair of the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies. Renne, associate professor of planning and urban studies and director of the Merritt C. Becker UNO Transportation Institute, will chair the Transportation and Land Development Committee for a 3-year term.

“This committee is a leading forum of experts that sets a national agenda on the topic of transportation and land use planning,” Renne said. “Given the economic recovery and a renewed interest in cities, transit and sustainable development, I am very excited to be taking over this committee at such a critical time in our nation’s history.”

Renne’s research focuses on sustainable transport, real estate, land use and transportation planning with a focus on transit-oriented development, travel behavior and emergency transportation planning for vulnerable populations. He has co-edited two books, “Transport Beyond Oil: Policy Choices for a Multimodal Future” and “Transit Oriented Development: Making It Happen.”

Renne also serves as the chair of the New Orleans Sustainable Transportation Advisory Committee to the City Council and he served on the founding board of Bike Easy, New Orleans’ nonprofit bicycle advocacy organization.

The mission of the Transportation Research Board is to promote innovation and progress in transportation through research. It is one of six major divisions of the National Research Council, a private nonprofit institution that is the principal operating agency of the National Academies in providing services to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities.