As of October 1, 2016, the SWUTC concluded its 28 years of operation and is no longer an active center of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute. The archived SWUTC website remains available here.

TAMU – Graduate Transportation Scholars Program

The purpose of the Graduate Transportation Scholars Program is to advance scholarly development of transportation graduate students enrolled in transportation engineering and materials programs in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University.  The eligibility for the program is defined by the U.S. Department of Transportation (currently open to U.S. citizens and permanent residents).  Students admitted to the program will receive several financial benefits including tuition and fees paid by the program, a monthly stipend paid by the research project they are assigned to, and an additional monthly stipend paid by the program.  The amounts of each of these benefits will be established in the program policies.  To promote the scholarly development of these students, assignments to research projects will emphasize close interaction with faculty members.

In addition to the tuition, fees, and stipend support for graduate students, the program will provide additional opportunities for advancing the scholarly development of graduate students.  These opportunities will be created through the development of formal policies in response to the need of the participating faculty.  Additional support opportunities may be extended to students that are not otherwise participating in the Transportation Scholars Program.  Examples of additional support could be providing travel expenses to present papers at conferences, support for Ph.D. students involved in classroom activities, and funding for graduate students and faculty to develop new teaching material or create research opportunities.

Please visit for more information on this program.

For more information on this program please contact:
Dr. Gene Hawkins
Associate Professor
Zachry Department of Civil Engineering
Texas A&M University
[email protected]